Shirley MacWilliam’s lecture on lens based art and sculpture

I found Shirley MacWilliam’s lecture on lens based art and sculpture to be very interesting and eye opening. In the past I had found it difficult to understand the meaning or purpose of some conceptual art. MacWilliam advised us to watch a BBC Documentary called ‘Who’s afraid of conceptual art?’. I watched this documentary and found it explained both the history of conceptual art and some of the most influential conceptual artists of today. It explained conceptual arts beginnings from Marcel Duchamp’s ‘fountain’ through to some of my favourite  contemporary conceptual artists such as Robert Montgomery and Katie Paterson. Overall Shirley Macwilliam’s lecture made me view conceptual art in a completely different way.

Leave a comment